“It was meant to be funny”

Can some one please explain to me what is supposed to be funny about this?

Where’s the joke? Where’s the punchline? Where, for that matter is there anything apart from spittle running down the side of the foaming mouth of Matthew Parris?

This column came to my attention via the BBC, where it is reported that the column was reported to the PCC by around 200 people; something of a record apparently. As a result, Parris has made an ‘apology’:

I offended many with my Christmas attack on cyclists. It was mean humorously but so many cyclists have taken it seriously that I plainly misjudged. I am sorry

All Mr Parris is apparently sorry about here – like so many ex- and current politicians – is that he got caught. That’s not an apology, that’s blaming your target. Presumably this was the punchline:

Does cycling turn you into an insolent jerk? Or are insolent jerks drawn disproportionately to cycling?

Or perhaps this bit of insightful wit:

A festive custom we could do worse than foster would be stringing piano wire across country lanes to decapitate cyclists

I will admit to being a lapsed cyclist, and as such I’ve had more than my fair share of run-ins with cars. Car drivers will always complain about cyclists on the road (more so than tractors; presumably because they can’t have fantasies about running down tractors), but this one just goes beyond the pale. I hope the Press Complaints Commission throw the book at him.

Leave a Reply

